Friday, December 4, 2015

Country Club Scottsdale Member/Guest tournament and USGA Rule 14-1B

Since our last Scottsdale Country Club newsletter communication, I can certainly see most of our Scottsdale Country Club membership has arrived for the season, if our initial Scottsdale Country Club golf events are any indication. We are very fortunate you support our Scottsdale Country Club tournaments as you do, for most all of them are full field events. It started with our Scottsdale Country Club opening day shotgun starts, and most recently we finished our Country Club Scottsdale Ladies’ and Gentlemen’s Rodeo member/member tournaments. We are confident the Country Club Scottsdale Ladies field will grow in the next few years, as we are seeing that more Country Club Scottsdale women are picking up the game through our clinics and nine-holers and are venturing down the path of the 18-hole round. Those ladies who played this year mentioned how fun it was to meet and play with members they never knew.

The Gentlemen’s Rodeo had a full field which was terrific, which also meant everyone was able to play. It has always been my belief the five-match format is best for a member-member event so you get to play with different fellow members every nine holes. Every division was very competitive and results are enclosed for your review.

Due to the extremely popular Round Up Gentlemen’s Member/ Guest Tournament each April, we added an additional 2-day Country Club Scottsdale Member/Guest tournament January 8th and 9th, 2016, and you guessed it, we have a full field signed up already. Again, thanks for your support.

We knew this day would come sooner or later when the USGA will implement as of January 1, 2016 Rule 14-1B which prohibits anchoring a club when making a stroke regardless of the club, a type of stroke, and regardless of where they are made on the course. Belly putters or long putters are still permitted – they just can’t be anchored to the body. A player may hold the club against his/her forearm or hand in making a stroke (Matt Kuchar) as long as it does not go beyond the elbow joint.

If you have any questions as to whether your current stroke has an anchor point, please contact your Country Club Scottsdale professional staff for clarification. Please be reminded there is no local rule which overrides this USGA rule and we are told by officials you cannot post a score if you are anchoring your club.

No comments:

Post a Comment